Home » Comiskey Park by Irwin J. Cohen
Comiskey Park Irwin J. Cohen

Comiskey Park

Irwin J. Cohen

Published March 21st 2004
ISBN : 9780738532448
Paperback
128 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

The Chicago White Sox opened Comiskey Park on July 1, 1910. Their owner, Charles Comiskey, wanted a new, modern, park made of steel and concrete to replace the old South Side Park. Comiskey Park was the home of the White Sox for the next 80 years,MoreThe Chicago White Sox opened Comiskey Park on July 1, 1910. Their owner, Charles Comiskey, wanted a new, modern, park made of steel and concrete to replace the old South Side Park. Comiskey Park was the home of the White Sox for the next 80 years, and over 72 million fans saw games there. This book recounts the history of the storied ballpark and the great events and ballplayers that made it famous. The Sox won all three World Series games played at Comiskey in 1917, the year of their only championship. It was followed two years later by the infamous Black Sox Scandal. In 1960, then owner Bill Veeck, one of the great innovators in the games history, installed the first exploding scoreboard in center field. Starting in 1969, Comiskey had a unique playing field for several years- artificial turf on the infield, and natural grass in the outfield. Comiskey Park last hosted the World Series in 1959, when the Los Angeles Dodgers beat the Sox four games to two. All-star players and fan favorites always made a trip to Comiskey worthwhile, and the Sox have fielded their share of Hall-of-Famers through the years, including Luke Appling, Nellie Fox, Eddie Collins, Luis Aparicio, and Carlton Fisk.